Tuesday, 30 June 2009

aloe vera cactus

When i first saw one of these plants I couldn't see the bottom of it & I thought it was an exotic tree. It is, I was told, a cactus plant - an aloe vera. Seen in France [Port Leucate]

Sunday, 28 June 2009

wood pigs

A photo of pigs made from tree branches, wood etc at the Eden Project, Cornwall

Saturday, 27 June 2009

Friday, 26 June 2009

Thursday, 25 June 2009

spider web tree

This is a combination of a photo of a tree and a web like pen drawing.
The original drawing can be seen on my 'illustration friday' blog site entry for 'cracked' http://linsdoodles.wordpress.com/category/pen-ink/

Wednesday, 24 June 2009

stone wall in France

I've just come back from a great holiday in France, so today's offering is a photo I took of an interesting stone in a wall.

Monday, 15 June 2009

metallic pen drawing

Different metallic pens in silver & gold on black paper, reminds me of a doyley.

Sunday, 14 June 2009

(mixed media) sea - fish

A drawing of fish from a sketch book has been combined with a transfer print of the sea.
(transfer print - original artwork painted on paper with transfer paints, ironed onto fabric)

Saturday, 13 June 2009

ooodles of doooodles

I'm sometimes a bit nervous about starting the first page in a new sketch book, but I think I definitely had the word doodle in my mind when I did this one.

Wednesday, 10 June 2009

Sunday, 7 June 2009

Twisted Tree

The little tree seedlings I find in my garden, I transfer to pots to keep them small and then twist their branches as they grow into knots and twists. Is it cruel?

Friday, 5 June 2009


I like this sculpture at Liverpool Street Station - Kindertransport Memorial.
In 1938 and 1939, nearly 10,000 unaccompanied Jewish children left Germany, Austria and Czechoslovakia by train, for the freedom of Britain.